Internet Explorer 7, 8, and 9 are no longer supported. Please use a newer browser.
Concourse works best with JavaScript enabled.
Blinn College logo

Bryan · Social Sciences · Government - GOVT


American Government
GOVT-2305

  • Spring 2019
  • Section 325 CRN-24005
  • 3 Credits
  • 01/14/2019 to 05/09/2019
  • Modified 01/11/2019

Meeting Times


Class 1:25 pm - 2:40 pm MW T Building 121

Contact Information


Ron Quiram

[email protected]

Office T 211

Office Hours MW 12:00-1:15

                     TTH 9:30-10:30

                    or by appointment

Description


Government 2305 is a study of the organization, functions, and administration of the several branches and agencies of the national government, including a study of the federal constitution. The primary factors considered relate to the three branches of government -- judicial, executive, legislative -- major historical documents, the events that shaped the nation, and current events. Emphasis will be placed on the interaction of these subsystems. 48 contact hours. Credit: Three semester hours.

Requisites

Student must be college reading ready according to Texas Success Initiatives Standards (TSI). Please see the Catalog section under Texas Success Initiative.

Core Curriculum Statement


Through the Texas Core Curriculum, students will gain a foundation of knowledge in human cultures and the physical and natural world, develop principles of personal and social responsibility for living in a diverse world, and advance intellectual and practical skills that are essential for all learning. For details relating to this core course, please see:

http://www.blinn.edu/academics/core_curriculum.html

Outcomes


Explain the origin and development of constitutional democracy in the United States.

Demonstrate knowledge of the federal system.

Describe separation of powers and checks and balances in both theory and practice.

Demonstrate knowledge of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the federal government.

Evaluate the role of public opinion, interest groups, and political parties in the political system.

Analyze the election process.

Describe the rights and responsibilities of citizens.

Analyze issues and policies in U.S. politics.

Materials


WE THE PEOPLE 2017 PKG

REQUIRED |By GINSBERG

  • EDITION:   11E
  • PUBLISHER:   NORTON
  • ISBN:   9780393622850

 

Course Requirements


Three exams(100 points each)  Six  Participation Quizzes (counting the five highest grades) (50 points total ) Written assignment(50 points) and comprehensive final exam (200 points)

Evaluation


CRITERIA FOR GRADING:

A=600-540

B=539-480

C=479-420

D=419-360

F=359 and below

Blinn College Policies


All policies, guidelines, and procedures in the Blinn College CatalogBlinn College Board Policies, and the Blinn College Administrative Regulations are applicable to this course.

Specific information on civility, attendance, add/drop, scholastic integrity, students with disabilities, final grade appeal, alternative retailers, campus carry and proctoring arrangements and cost.

Notice of any action taken under these protocol and procedures, by Blinn College or its employees, may be delivered by hand, through the U.S. Postal Service, or electronically to the student’s Blinn Buc e-mail account. Notice shall be deemed received upon actual receipt, on deposit in the U.S. Mail, or upon entering the information processing system used by Blinn College for Blinn Buc e-mail accounts, whichever first occurs.

Course Policies


Missed exams must be made up. Its is the students responsibility to make arrangements for make up exams. Missed exams must be made up immediately following the students return to the classroom. Failure to do so will result in an “0”.  Extra Credit and Participation Quizzes cannot be made up.No food or drinks in the classroom NOT following directions on exams or quizzes. Will result in an automatic 10 point deduction on the exam or quiz.

Schedule


Week One

Meeting Details

LEC

Weekly

Monday, January 14, 2019

First Day of Class Chapter 2

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Chapter 2

 1.5

Week Two

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, January 21, 2019

Holiday No Class

 

 

1.5

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Chapter 2

 1.5

Week Three

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, January 28, 2019

Chapter 2

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Participation Quiz chapter 2

Day of Record

 1.5

Week Four

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, February 04, 2019

Chapter 4

 1.5

 3

Wednesday, February 06, 2019

Chapter 4

 1.5

Week Five

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, February 11, 2019

Chapter 4

 1.5

 3

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Participation Quiz Chapter 4

 1.5

Week Six

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, February 18, 2019

Exam 1 Chapters 2,4, Constitution

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Chapter 3 Article VI

 1.5

Week Seven

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, February 25, 2019

 

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Chapter 3 Article IV

 1.5

Week Eight

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, March 04, 2019

Chapter 3 Article 1 Sections 8,9,10

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, March 06, 2019

Participation Quiz Chapter 3

 1.5

SPRING BREAK

MONDAY, MAR 11 - FRIDAY, MAR 15

 

 

Week Nine

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, March 18, 2017

Chapter 13

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, March 20, 2017

Chapter 13

 1.5

Week Ten

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, March 25, 2019

Chapter 13

 1.5

 3

Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Participation Quiz 13

 1.5

Week Eleven

 Exam 2 Chapters 3,13, constitution

LEC

Weekly

Monday, April 01, 2019

Chapter 12

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, April 03, 2019

Chapter 12

 1.5

Week Twelve

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, April 8, 2019

Participation Quiz 12

 1.5

 3

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Chapter 15 Article III

 1.5

Week Thirteen

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, April 15, 2019

Chapter 15

 1.5

 

6

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Week Fourteen 

Monday April 22 2019

 

Wednesday April 24 2019

Friday April 26, 2019

Chapter 15 

 

 

Chapter 15

 

Participation Quiz 15

last day to drop classes

 4.5

Week Fifteen

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, April 29, 2017

Exam 3 Chapters 13,15, Constitution

Papers Due

 1.5

 

3

Wednesday, May 1st, 2017

Unfinished business

 1.5

 

 

LEC

Weekly

   

 

 

   

 

Week Sixteen - Finals Week

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, May 06, 2019

 

 

 3

Tuesday, May 07, 2019

 

 

Wednesday, May 08, 2019

final exam 3:15-5:30

 

Thursday, May 09, 2019

 

 

Friday, May 10, 2019

GRADUATION

 

 

Total Contact Hours

 

48