Internet Explorer 7, 8, and 9 are no longer supported. Please use a newer browser.

Concourse works best with JavaScript enabled.

Blinn College • Bryan • Business and Technology • Comp Network Admin - ITNW


Supporting Network Svr Infrast ITNW-1353

  • Fall 2018
  • Section 363 CRN-13137
  • 3 Credits
  • 08/27/2018 to 12/13/2018
  • Modified 08/26/2018

Meeting Times


Lecture & Lab

  • Tuesday, Thursday, 10:00 AM to 11:50 AM, Student Center 241

Contact Information


Instructor: Mrs. Kelli Adam M.S.

Office Hours

  • Monday, Wednesday, 11:15 AM to 11:45 AM

Description


Installing, configuring, managing, and supporting a network infrastructure.

3 lecture hours and 1 lab hour per week; 64 total contact hours.  Credit 3 semester hours.

Requisites

Prerequisites: ITNW 1354 with a grade of "C" or better or approval of the Dean or designee

Core Curriculum Statement


This course is not a core curriculum course.

Outcomes


Upon successful completion of this course, students will:

  1. Install and configure DHCP, DNS, remote access, network security using public key infrastructure.
  2. Integrate network services.
  3. Deploy operating systems using remote installation services.

Materials


Flash Drive

USB Flash Thumb Drive

Course Requirements


Microsoft MCSA exams 70-411 and 70-412

Transfers to BAAS degree at SHSU.

Transfers to BAS-IT degree at UHCL.

Evaluation


Criteria

Type Weight Notes
Exams 50

Four major exams and a comprehensive final exam each worth 10% of the course grade

Labs 40

Numerous hands-on labs

Participation 10

Daily contributions to discussion and assignments

Blinn College Policies


All policies, guidelines, and procedures in the Blinn College CatalogBlinn College Board Policies, and the Blinn College Administrative Regulations are applicable to this course.

Specific information on civility, attendance, add/drop, scholastic integrity, students with disabilities, final grade appeal, alternative retailers, campus carry and proctoring arrangements and cost.

Notice of any action taken under these protocol and procedures, by Blinn College or its employees, may be delivered by hand, through the U.S. Postal Service, or electronically to the student’s Blinn Buc e-mail account. Notice shall be deemed received upon actual receipt, on deposit in the U.S. Mail, or upon entering the information processing system used by Blinn College for Blinn Buc e-mail accounts, whichever first occurs.

Course Policies


Schedule


Week

Date

Class Details

1

Tue Aug 28

Course Syllabus, Lesson 0

 

Thur Aug 30

Lesson 1 – Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Review & Lab Setup

2

Tue Sep 04

Lesson 1 cont.

 

Thur Sep 06

Lesson 1 cont.

3

Tue Sep 11

70-741 Lesson 2 – Domain Name Services (DNS)

 

Thur Sep 13

Lesson 2 cont.

4

Tue Sep 18

Lesson 2 cont.

 

Thur Sep 20

Lesson 3 – DHCP & IPAM

5

Tue Sep 25

Lesson 3 cont. ; EXAM 1

 

Thur Sep 27

Lesson 4 – Network & Remote Access Solutions

6

Tue Oct 02

Lesson 4 cont.

 

Thur Oct 04

Lesson 4 cont.

7

Tue Oct 09

Lesson 5 – Core & Distributed Network Solutions

 

Thur Oct 11

Lesson 5 cont.

8

Tue Oct 16

Lesson 6 – Advanced Network Infrastructure

 

Thur Oct 18

Lesson 6 cont. ; EXAM 2

9

Tue Oct 23

70-742 Lesson 7 – Install & Configure Active Directory DS

 

Thur Oct 25

Lesson 7 cont.

10

Tue Oct 30

Lesson 7 cont.

 

Thur Nov 01

Lesson 8 – Manage & Maintain AD DS

11

Tue Nov 06

Lesson 8 cont.; EXAM 3

 

Thur Nov 07

Lesson 9 – Group Policy

12

Tue Nov 13

Lesson 9 cont.

 

Thur Nov 15

Lesson 10 – Active Directory Certificate Services

13

Tue Nov 20

Lesson 10 cont. ; EXAM 4

 

Thur Nov 22

HOLIDAY

14

Tue Nov 27

Lesson 11 – Identity Federation & Access Solutions

 

Thur Nov 29

Lesson 11 cont.

15

Tue Dec 04

Lab Completions

 

Thur Dec 06

Course Review

16

Tue Dec 11

FINAL EXAM 10:15-12:30 noon