Internet Explorer 7, 8, and 9 are no longer supported. Please use a newer browser.

Concourse works best with JavaScript enabled.

Blinn College • Police Academy - TEEX • Social Sciences • Criminal Justice - CJLE


Basic Peace Officer II CJLE-1512

  • Fall 2018
  • Section 300 CRN-11714
  • 5 Credits
  • 08/06/2018 to 12/07/2018
  • Modified 08/31/2018

Meeting Times


MTWRF, 7:30-5

Contact Information


Miles (Lee) Santo

TEEX Police Academy

979-458-0457

[email protected]

[email protected]

Description


Basic preparation for a new peace officer. Should be taken in conjunction with Basic Peace Officer I, III, IV, and V (supplement) to satisfy the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement approved Basic Peace Officer Academy. ***THIS COURSE MAY BE OFFERED ONLY BY INSTITUTIONS LICENSED AS A POLICE ACADEMY BY Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.*** It covers field note-taking, report writing, “use of force” law and concepts, problem-solving, multiculturalism, professional policing approaches, patrol procedures, victims of crime, family violence, HMR, crowd management, HAZMAT, and criminal investigation. All students must complete academy application process. Admission to Blinn College does not guarantee admission to the police academy.

 

 

.

 

Requisites

Prerequisites: All students must complete academy application process.

Corequisites: CJLE 1506, CJLE 1518, CJLE 1524

Core Curriculum Statement


This course is not a core curriculum course.

Outcomes


Demonstrate an understanding of effective observation and written communication skills as they relate to police report writing and documentation

Demonstrate an understanding of the legal authorities and moral considerations pertaining to a peace officer’s use of force

Demonstrate the physical ability to apply common police self-defense and subject control tactics in a simulated confrontation

Demonstrate that ability to apply common methods, techniques and tactics for police patrol, field interviewing and traffic stops

Demonstrate an understanding of law enforcement’s role in providing crime prevention services to the public  

Materials


All required materials will be distributed to the students by the academy coordinator for the course in accordance with the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement. Texas Penal Code and Motor Vehicle Handbook along with Academy Manual are required.

Course Requirements


Students must pass all elements of all courses CJLE 1506, 1512, 1518 and 1524 with a 80% average or higher

The Central Texas Police Academy is a pass/fail academy

This course is part of a four course sequence that represents a TCOLE approved Basic Police Academy

You must be 21 years of age at the completion of the academy in order to sit for the Basic Peace Officer licensing  exam

Evaluation


Criteria

Types of evaluations and related weights
Type Weight Topic Notes
 

At least four or more major grades which may include the following:

 

Topic and skills tests              20 percent

3 Quarterly exams                   30 percent

Final exam                               50 percent

Blinn College Policies


All policies, guidelines, and procedures in the Blinn College CatalogBlinn College Board Policies, and the Blinn College Administrative Regulations are applicable to this course.

Specific information on civility, attendance, add/drop, scholastic integrity, students with disabilities, final grade appeal, alternative retailers, campus carry and proctoring arrangements and cost.

Notice of any action taken under these protocol and procedures, by Blinn College or its employees, may be delivered by hand, through the U.S. Postal Service, or electronically to the student’s Blinn Buc e-mail account. Notice shall be deemed received upon actual receipt, on deposit in the U.S. Mail, or upon entering the information processing system used by Blinn College for Blinn Buc e-mail accounts, whichever first occurs.

Course Policies


Schedule


Course calendar and related activities
When Topic Notes
 

Week One

Meeting Details

Weekly Contact Hrs

Monday, August 6, 2018

Fitness, Wellness and Stress

10

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Fitness, Wellness and Stress

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Professional Policing

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Professionalism and Ethics

Physical Skills Training

Friday, August 10, 2018

U.S. and Texas Constitution

Physical Skills Training

Week Two

 

Weekly

Monday, August 13, 2018

Texas Penal Code

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Texas Penal Code

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Texas Penal Code

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Texas Penal Code

Physical Skills Training

Friday, August 17, 2018

Texas Penal Code

Physical Skills Training

Week Three

 

Weekly

Monday, August 20, 2018

Texas Penal Code

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Arrest, Search and Seizure

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Arrest, Search and Seizure

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, August 23, 2018

Arrest, Search and Seizure

Physical Skills Training

Friday, August 24, 2018

Code of Criminal Procedure

Physical Skills Training

Week Four

 

Weekly

Monday, August 27, 2018

Code of Criminal Procedure

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Use of Force

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Use of Force

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Use of Force

Physical Skills Training

EXAM #1

Friday, August 31, 2018

Victims of Crime

Physical Skills Training

Week Five

 

Weekly

Monday, September 3, 2018

Family Violence

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Family Violence

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

CIT Mental Health

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, September 6, 2018

CIT Mental Health

Physical Skills Training

Friday, September 7, 2018

CIT Mental Health

Physical Skills Training

Week Six

 

Weekly

Monday, September 10, 2018

Pt Test

Traffic Law

10

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Pt Test

Traffic Law

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Traffic Law

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Traffic Law

Physical Skills Training

Friday, September 14, 2018

Emergency Communications

Physical Skills Training

Week Seven

 

Weekly

Monday, September 17, 2018

Pressure Point Control Tactics

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Pressure Point Control Tactics

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Pressure Point Control Tactics

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, September 20, 2018

Pressure Point Control Tactics

Physical Skills Training

Friday, September 21, 2018

Pressure Point Control Tactics

Physical Skills Training

Week Eight

 

Weekly

Monday, September 24, 2018

Patrol Procedures

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Patrol Procedures

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Patrol Procedures

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Patrol Procedures

Physical Skills Training

Friday, September 28, 2018

Patrol Procedures

Physical Skills Training

Week Nine

 

Weekly

Monday, October 1, 2018

Emergency Vehicle Operations

Physical Skills Training

EXAM #2

10

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Emergency Vehicle Operations

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Emergency Vehicle Operations

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Emergency Vehicle Operations

Physical Skills Training

Friday, October 5, 2018

Accident Investigation

Physical Skills Training

Week Ten

 

Weekly

Monday, October 8, 2018

Accident Investigation

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Accident Investigation

Physical Skills Training

Traffic Direction

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Field Note Taking and Report Writing

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Field Note Taking and Report Writing

Physical Skills Training

Friday, October 12, 2018

Field Note Taking and Report Writing

Physical Skills Training

Week Eleven

 

Weekly

Monday, October 15, 2018

Physical Training Test

Standardized Field Sobriety Tests

10

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Physical Training Test

Standardized Field Sobriety Tests

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Standardized Field Sobriety Tests

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Drug Recognition

Physical Skills Training

Friday, October 19, 2018

Interviewing Techniques

Physical Skills Training

Week Twelve

 

Weekly

Monday, October 22, 2018

Criminal Investigation

Physical Skills Training

 

10

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Criminal Investigation

Physical Skills Training

 

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Civil Law

Physical Skills Training

 

 

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Juvenile Issues

Physical Skills Training

 

Friday, October 26, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

Week Thirteen

 

Weekly

Monday, October 29, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

Friday, November 2, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

 

 

 

 

 

 

Week Fourteen

 

Weekly

Monday, November 5, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Firearms

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Crime Scene Investigation

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Crime Scene Investigation

Physical Skills Training

Friday, November 9, 2018

Courtroom Demeanor

Booking Procedures

Physical Skills Training

Week Fifteen

 

Weekly

Monday, November 12, 2018

TABC

First Aid and CPR

Physical Skills Training

10

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

First Aid and CPR

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Hazardous Materials

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Cultural Diversity

Physical Skills Training

EXAM #3

Friday, November 16, 2018

Cultural Diversity

Physical Skills Training

Week Sixteen

 

Weekly

Monday, November 19, 2018

Spanish

Physical Skills training

10

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Spanish

Physical Skills training

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Asset Forfeiture

Racial Profiling

Physical Skills training

Thursday, November 22, 2018

THANKSGIVING

Friday, November 23, 2018

THANKSGIVING

Week Seventeen

 

Weekly

Monday, November 26, 2018

Physical Skills training

Active Shooter

10

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Practical Scenarios

Physical Skills Training

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Practical Scenarios

Physical Skills Training

Thursday, November 29, 2018

 

Practical Scenarios

Physical Skills Training

Friday, November 30, 2018

Practical Scenarios

Physical Skills Training

 

Week Eighteen

 

Weekly

Monday, December 3, 2018

Practical Scenarios

6

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Identity Theft / TEEX Exam Review

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

TEEX Exam

Thursday, December 6, 2018

TCOLE Exam Review

 

Friday, December 7, 2018

TCOLE Exam

 

TOTAL CONTACT HOURS

176