Internet Explorer 7, 8, and 9 are no longer supported. Please use a newer browser.

Concourse works best with JavaScript enabled.

Blinn College • Madisonville HS • Social Sciences • Government - GOVT


American Government GOVT-2305

  • Fall 2018
  • Section 808 CRN-10464
  • 3 Credits
  • 08/27/2018 to 12/13/2018
  • Modified 08/20/2018

Meeting Times


Lecture

  • Monday, Wednesday, Friday, 1:04 PM to 1:50 PM, Madisonville High School

Contact Information


Professor: Mr. Joseph Denman

  • Email: [email protected]
  • Office: Academic Bldg. A-284 (Bryan Campus)
  • Phone: (979) 209-7540

Office Hours

  • Monday, Wednesday, 12:45 PM to 1:00 PM, Madisonville High School

Description


Government 2305 is a study of the organization, functions, and administration of the several branches and agencies of the national government, including a study of the federal constitution. The primary factors considered relate to the three branches of government -- judicial, executive, legislative -- major historical documents, the events that shaped the nation, and current events. Emphasis will be placed on the interaction of these subsystems. 48 contact hours. Credit: Three semester hours.

Requisites

Student must be college reading ready according to Texas Success Initiatives Standards (TSI). Please see the Catalog section under Texas Success Initiative.

Core Curriculum Statement


Through the Texas Core Curriculum, students will gain a foundation of knowledge in human cultures and the physical and natural world, develop principles of personal and social responsibility for living in a diverse world, and advance intellectual and practical skills that are essential for all learning. For details relating to this core course, please see:

http://www.blinn.edu/academics/core_curriculum.html

Outcomes


Explain the origin and development of constitutional democracy in the United States.

Demonstrate knowledge of the federal system.

Describe separation of powers and checks and balances in both theory and practice.

Demonstrate knowledge of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the federal government.

Evaluate the role of public opinion, interest groups, and political parties in the political system.

Analyze the election process.

Describe the rights and responsibilities of citizens.

Analyze issues and policies in U.S. politics.

Materials


WE THE PEOPLE 2017 PKG

REQUIRED |By GINSBERG

  • EDITION:   11E
  • PUBLISHER:   NORTON
  • ISBN:   9780393622850

 

Course Requirements


Exams

Exams # 1-4 will be multiple choice with 50 questions covering the material covered for each unit. The Final will be cumulative with 100 multiple choice questions. Make-Up exams will be given for school organization trips, religious activities with documentation, medical emergencies with documentation, and family emergencies with documentation and will vary from the original format. Those needing to take make-up exams will have one week to arrange the exam. School trips & religious activities need to arrange at least one day in advance.

Research Assignments

Study the readings assigned and answer the attached questions. The question and answer should be typed in a word document with Times New Roman, 12 point font.  All citations must be cited correctly internally and in the works cited page in MLA format. The paper is due in the ecampus classroom on test day for each unit. 

Quizzes

Quizzes are assigned for each chapter. Quizzes will consist of 5 questions over the assigned readings or lecture. Quizzes cannot be made up or taken afterwards, unless on a school approved trip or religious activity with documentation. 

Evaluation


Criteria

Types of evaluations and related weights
Type Weight Topic Notes
Exams 600 points

There will be four regular exams worth a maximum of one hundred points per exam. There will also be a cumulative final exam worth a maximum of two hundred points.

Research Assignments 200 points

There will be four research assignments worth a maximum of one hundred points per assignment. Only the two highest scores will be recorded.

Quizzes 200 points

There will be twenty quizzes worth a maximum of ten points per quiz.

Breakdown

Resulting grade and related performance levels
Grade Range Notes
A 900-1000 points
B 800-899 points
C 700-799 points
D 600-699 points
F 0-599 points

Blinn College Policies


All policies, guidelines, and procedures in the Blinn College CatalogBlinn College Board Policies, and the Blinn College Administrative Regulations are applicable to this course.

Specific information on civility, attendance, add/drop, scholastic integrity, students with disabilities, final grade appeal, alternative retailers, campus carry and proctoring arrangements and cost.

Notice of any action taken under these protocol and procedures, by Blinn College or its employees, may be delivered by hand, through the U.S. Postal Service, or electronically to the student’s Blinn Buc e-mail account. Notice shall be deemed received upon actual receipt, on deposit in the U.S. Mail, or upon entering the information processing system used by Blinn College for Blinn Buc e-mail accounts, whichever first occurs.

Course Policies


"Q" Drop Date

The last day to drop the course with a "Q" grade is Friday, November 30th.

Schedule


Week One

Meeting Details

Lecture

Minutes

Weekly Hours

Monday, Aug 27, 2018

Welcome & Introduction

50

3

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2018

Political Culture

50

Friday, Aug 31, 2018

Political Culture

50

Week Two

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Sept 03, 2018

Labor Day Holiday

50

3

Wednesday, Sept 05, 2018

US Constitution

50

Friday, Sept 07, 2018

US Constitution

50

Week Three

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Sept 10, 2018

US Constitution

50

3

Wednesday, Sept 12, 2018

Federalism

50

Friday, Sept 14, 2018

Federalism

50

Week Four

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Sept 17, 2018

Public Opinion

50

3

Wednesday, Sept 19, 2018

Media

50

Friday, Sept 21, 2018

Media

50

Week Five

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Sept 24, 2018

Exam #1 & Research Assignment #1 Due

50

3

Wednesday, Sept 26, 2018

Campaigns

50

Friday, Sept 28, 2018

Film: UN Program of Work

50

Week Six

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Oct 01, 2018

Political Parties

50

3

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2018

Political Parties

50

Friday, Oct 05, 2018

Elections

50

Week Seven

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Oct 08, 2018

Interest Groups

50

3

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2018

Interest Groups

50

Friday, Oct 12, 2018

Exam #2 & Research Assignment #2 Due

50

 

Week Eight

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Oct 15, 2018

Civil Liberties

50

3

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018

Civil Liberties

50

Friday, Oct 19, 2018

Civil Rights

50

Week Nine

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Oct 22, 2018

Civil Rights

50

3

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2018

Civil Rights

50

Friday, Oct 26, 2018

Congress

50

Week Ten

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Oct 29, 2018

Congress

50

3

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2018

Congress

50

Friday, Nov 02, 2018

Judiciary

50

Week Eleven

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Nov 05, 2018

Judiciary

50

3

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018

Exam #3 & Research Assignment #3 Due

50

Friday, Nov 09, 2018

Presidency

50

Week Twelve

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Nov 12, 2018

Presidency

50

3

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018

Bureaucracy

50

Friday, Nov 16, 2018

Bureaucracy

50

Week Thirteen

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Nov 19, 2018

Film: Freedom Summer

50

3

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2018

Thanksgiving Holiday

50

Friday, Nov 23, 2018

Thanksgiving Holiday

50

Week Fourteen

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Nov 26, 2018

Economic Policy

50

3

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2018

Social Policy

50

Friday, Nov 30, 2018

“Q Drop Date”

Foreign Policy

50

 

Week Fifteen

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Dec 03, 2018

Foreign Policy

50

3

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2018

Exam #4 & Research Assignment #4

50

Friday, Dec 07, 2018

Review

50

Week Sixteen - Finals Week

 

LEC

Weekly

Monday, Dec 10, 2018

Final Exam (1:04-3:04)

 

3

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2018

 

 

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2018

 

 

Thursday, Dec 13, 2018

 

 

 

 

 
 

Total Contact Hours

 

48.0